Early Childhood Learning Taskforce Community Supporters

Public Officials and Agencies:

City of Holyoke-Office of the Mayor; Mayor Alex Morse, (413) 322-5510 morsea@ci.holyoke.ma.us
Leads 85% Reading Goal initiative in the City of Holyoke

Holyoke City Council;     
Municipal legislative body, provides funding support for Holyoke Public School activities

Holyoke Public Schools; Superintendant, Dr. Sergio Páez (413) 534-2005 spaez@hps.holyoke.ma.us
               

Holyoke School Committee; Devan Sheehan, Vice-Chair
Unanimously implemented 85% Reading Goal, ensures priority funding and support

Holyoke Early Childhood Literacy Task Force;  Gabrielle Agron, (413) 534-2000 x270 gagron@hps.holyoke.ma.us
Organizes school, community and family task forces to achieve 85% Reading Goal

HALO (Holyoke Adult Learning Opportunities) Center; Martha Owen, Director, 413-534-2026
mowen@hps.holyoke.ma.us 
Provides family reading support to parents enrolled in adult basic education; Member family engagement task force

Pathways to Family Literacy; Jodi Spitz, Director, (413) 552-2913 jspitz@hps.holyoke.ma.us   
Coordinates and informs public and private educational community in Holyoke; Member family engagement task force

Holyoke Community College; President William Messner (413) 552-2700 wmessner@hcc.edu
Developing Literacy Partnership to oversee community activities related to 85% Reading Goal

Holyoke Housing Authority, Rita Maccini (413) 539-2229 rmaccini@holyokehousing.org
Member of community task force

Massachusetts Department of Early Childhood and Care Dr. Sherri Killins (617) 988-6600 sherrikillins@massmail.state.ma.us
Delivered Keynote presentation at August 2011 85% Kick-off event; ECC has entered into a Memorandum of Understanding with Holyoke Public Schools to support school readiness and early childhood reading initiatives

Holyoke Public Library; Nathan Hayes, children's librarian (413) 322-5640 nathanhayes13@gmail.com
Leads coordination of city summer reading activities; Member family engagement task force

Business Community & Media:

Greater Holyoke Chamber of Commerce; Doris Ransford, President, (413) 534-3376 ransford@holycham.com
Member of community task force

Holyoke Latino Chamber of Commerce;  Andrew Melendez, Director, (413) 391-0157 holyoke@masslatinochamber.com  
Member of community task force

Holyoke Rotary Club;  Lasca Hoey, President, (413) 532-3028  lasca1@aol.com
Holyoke Rotary has committed $25,000.00 to summer reading initiative in Holyoke; distributes dictionaries to every third grade student in Holyoke

Kittredge Center for Business and Workforce Development;  Jeffrey Hayden, Director (413) 552-2587  jhayden@hcc.mass.edu
Member of community task force

Ross Insurance Agency;  Maureen Ross O'Connell, (413) 536-8380 x121  mroc@rossins.com
Member of community task force

Target; Community.Relations@target.com
Target grant funded a Family Literacy Center at Holyoke’s Metcalf Early Childhood Center in 2011, assisting the ECR Task Force in reaching a major initial goal

Holyoke Medical Center; Attn: Rafael Mojica; (413) 534-2500  M_rafael@holyokehealth.com
Member of community task force

Conklin Furniture; Attn:  rose@conklinoffice.com , (413) 315-6777
Pledged to furnish a Family Literacy Center at Holyoke’s Kelly Elementary School in 2011, assisting the ECR Task Force in reaching a major initial goal

WGBY Public Television; Attn: Bess Kapetanis, (413) 781-2801 x292 bkapetanis@wgby.org
Member of community task force

Holyoke Sun; Attn: Dennis P. Hohenberger, (413) 536-5333,
Assistance with Public outreach denpow@yahoo.com

Early Childhood Providers, Philanthropic and Non-Profit Agencies:

Square One;  Joan Kagan, President (413) 733-2181 x107  jkagan@sdn.org
Advisory assistance; Rotary summer learning initiative and Member family engagement task force

Holyoke/Springfield/Chicopee Head Start; Janis Santos, Executive Director (413) 536-0363 santosj@headstart.org
Member family engagement task force

Coordinated Family Community & Engagement;  Andrea Callanan, Coordinator, (413) 536-0363    CallananA@headstart.org
Member family engagement task force

Valley Opportunity Council;  Mark Leonas, (413)  552-1554,  mleonas@valleyopp.com
Charter Member, Early Childhood Literacy Task Force

The Irene E. & George A. Davis Foundation; Sally Fuller,  (413) 734-8336, sfuller@davisfdn.org
The Davis Foundation has provided material, logistical and organizational support to develop and sustain Holyoke’s 85% Reading Goal from its beginning; is developing Literacy Partnership to oversee community activities related to 85% Reading Goal; Member of community task force

United Way of Pioneer Valley;  Sylvia deHaas, Senior Vice President of Community Impact,
(413) 693-0216  sdehaas@uwpv.org  
Member family engagement task force, Developing Literacy Partnership to oversee community activities related to 85% Reading Goal

Links to Libraries Sue Kaplan, President, (413) 567-8563  pezlover@comcast.net
Material support provided to date includes books for HALO Family Literacy; Literacy Backpacks for Kindergarten Families; Member family engagement task force

Friends of Holyoke Public Schools Christian LaChapelle, President, (413) 536-3330, clachapelle@positiveregard.com
Member of family engagement task force

Enchanted Circle Theater Priscilla Hellwig, Executive Director (413) 534-3789 priscilla@enchantedcircletheater.com
Delivered presentation at August 2011 85% Kick-off event on literacy and the arts

Enlace De Familias: Holyoke Unites! Betty Medina Lichtenstein, Executive Director, (413) 532-9300 Betty@hfn.org
Member family engagement task force

Kids Place, Holyoke; Denielle Albertowiz, Center Director (413) 538-7742 Rhonda@thekidsplace.org
Member family engagement task force

57 Suffolk Street
Holyoke, MA 01040
Phone: (413) 534-2000
Fax: (413) 534-3730