PRESS RELEASE: Holyoke School Committee Member Named to All-State School Committee

PRESS RELEASE: Holyoke School Committee Member Named to All-State School Committee

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                


November 26, 2018




BOSTON—Holyoke school committee member Irene Feliciano-Sims was honored earlier this month as the Minority Caucus representative to the Massachusetts Association of School Committees (MASC) 2018 All-State School Committee. The award was presented at the Leadership Dinner on Thursday, November 8 during the Association’s 2018 Annual Conference in Hyannis.

The All-State School Committee Award, established by the Association’s Board of Directors in 1997, honors those individuals who have made a significant contribution to their committee or their community through specific action or as an inspiration and role model for their peers and constituents. Each year, one member from each of the Association’s nine divisions and Minority Caucus is selected to represent them on the honorary All-State Committee. Candidates for the award typically are nominated by their local School Committees, school leaders, community members, or MASC Board of Directors.

Feliciano-Sims, currently in her fourth year on the Holyoke School Committee, has put her experiences as a community activist to the benefit of the school children and families of the district. She has been a visible participant in both state and national school board conventions representing the interests of minority students, transient children and families and immigrants as well as advocating for her district and modeling the exemplary work of Massachusetts’ urban communities.


MASC is a non-profit organization that represents more than 2,100 Massachusetts school committee members in over 330 local and regional school districts throughout the commonwealth, providing its members a wide range of training programs, policy development and administrator search services, as well as legal and advocacy support.


PHOTO: MASC 2018 President Beverly Hugo (Framingham School Committee) presents the All-State School Committee 2018 award to Holyoke School Committee member Irene Feliciano-Sims during the Leadership Banquet at the Association’s Annual Conference this month in Hyannis.


FOR INFORMATION, CONTACT: Jenifer Handy, MASC Communications Director


Print Friendly, PDF & Email