Cones for Excellence


Cones for Excellence in Building Strong Student Pathways

In the Holyoke Public Schools, we are recognizing one educator or staff member a week who is working hard to build and grow our students’ ability to: effectively communicate, think critically, productively engage as community members and become mindful individuals (from our graduate profile). We are surprising a deserving HPS team member with a construction cone that displays the words: “Awesome,” “Well Done,” and “Great Job.” These cones for excellence recipients also receive an ice cream cone gift certificate, donated by Friendly’s, in recognition for their outstanding work. Congratulations to these winners who are focused on providing a high-quality educational experience and offering multiple pathways for students to succeed.

To date, the following individuals have received an honorary Cone for Excellence:

  • Heather Roberts (HPS district-wide Physical Therapy Assistant)
  • Ryan Dearing (counselor at Kelly School)
  • Elena Danek (ELL teacher at Sullivan School)
  • Angela Morales (Opportunity Academy)
  • Lisa Destefano (Morgan School)
  • David Rudzik (Metcalf School)
  • Darlene Henshaw (Holyoke High)
  • Ms. Casey Doreums (Lawrence School)
  • Frederick Caswell, (Peck School)
  • Tammy Cato (5th-grade teacher at EN White)
  • Roberto Vicente
  • Jariela Cruz Caliz (Middle school alternative teacher)
  • Trish Wilson (Donahue School)
  • Odalis Acevedo (Metcalf School)
  • Amy Nill (Peck School)
  • Dr. Laura Chiaravalloti (Holyoke STEM Academy)
  • Laura Vazquez (Holyoke High School North Campus)
Print Friendly, PDF & Email