Health, Wellness, Nursing

Medication Information for Families
 
In order to keep children’s established medication routines in place during the current coronavirus pandemic, we ask that families administer their child’s medications, treatments, and procedures at home whenever possible.  Further, we want you to know that state guidelines prohibit nebulizer treatments at school during the COVID-19 pandemic since nebulizer treatments can increase the risk of the virus being aerosolized.  Regularly scheduled medications that can be given at home should be provided to your child at home.
 
Emergency medication such as (but not limited to) an epinephrine autoinjector (EpiPen), asthma inhaler, seizure medication, diabetic supplies, or other medication, treatment, or items needed for a procedure that your child must have available during school hours must be available at school when your child is attending school in-person. Medications, Procedures, and Treatments at School Require Current Written Orders and Parent/Guardian Signature – If your child needs medication, procedure or treatment during the school day, a current and proper order from a licensed prescriber must be given to the nurse at your child’s school before the student enters or re-enters school.  Orders will be renewed as needed, including at the beginning of each academic year.  Contact your child’s school nurse for more information or if you have questions. The Medication forms are located below.

The flu vaccine should be given to everyone 6 months and older, as it is the best option for protection, according to the American Academy of Pediatrics. The AAP tells us that the annual flu vaccine significantly reduces a child’s risk of severe influenza and death. Special effort should be made to vaccinate all children 6 months and older who have conditions that increase their risk of complications of flu. This includes infants born preterm and those with chronic medical conditions, including asthma and other chronic lung diseases, heart disease, diabetes and other metabolic problems, and weakened immune systems, among others. Influenza vaccine should be given to all women who are pregnant, considering pregnancy or are in the postpartum period or are breastfeeding during the flu season.  Contact your child’s School Nurse for more information.

Flu-Related Resources

Flu-related Videos

School Nurses are key members of the education team and leaders of school health who keep students healthy, safe and ready to learn.  Healthy children attend school regularly, participate in their classes and do better on assignments and tests. Holyoke Public School nurses help make this happen!

HHS Dean Campus – Luba Pantus, lpantus@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-1688, fax: 413-540-2429

HHS North Campus – Amber Piedra, ampiedra@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-540-2403, fax: 413-540-2416

Donahue -Brittney Kane, bkane@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-1614, fax: 413-540-2421

E.N. White – Nicole Brochu, nbrochu@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-1692, fax: 413-540-2418

Kelly – Hallie McGuire, hmcguire@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-534-2115, fax: 413-540-2425

Lawrence – Alla Taku, ataku@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-540-2404, fax: 413-540-2424

McMahon – Karoline Syner, ksyner@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-540-2405, fax: 413-540-2420

Metcalf – Sydney Diaz, sqdiaz@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-1698, fax: 413-493-1639

Morgan – Camille Lopez, camlopez@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-1667, fax: 413-540-2426

Peck – Mary Michaud, mmichaud@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-7040, fax: 413-540-2417

Sullivan – Christina Morales, cmorales@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-1696, fax: 413-540-2419

Veritas  – Kimberly Renzulli krenzulli@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-7040, fax 413-540-2417
The Holyoke Public School Nurses support, coordinate, collaborate and lead health programming in the school district through Health Services, Healthy EnvironmentComprehensive Health EducationNutrition ServicesPhysical EducationMental Health ServicesFamily/Community Relationships, and Staff Wellness.

Contact Us

Cynthia Carbone, MEd, MSN, RN 
Director of Health, Wellness, and Nursing
ccarbone@hps.holyoke.ma.us
413-534-2000 Ext. 1221

Health & Wellness Videos

Print Friendly, PDF & Email