Health, Wellness, Nursing

About 

Holyoke Public Schools supports comprehensive health education, nutrition services, physical activity, health services, mental health services, health promotion, school and family/community relationships, and a healthy environment. Improved health optimizes student attendance and academic performance. The district strives to equip students and their families with the knowledge and skills they need to make healthy choices in their daily lives.

Medication Information for Families
 

When possible and as appropriate, families should administer their child’s medications, treatments, and procedures at home whenever possible.

State guidelines prohibit nebulizer treatments at school during the COVID-19 pandemic since nebulizer treatments can increase the risk of the virus being aerosolized.

Children who require any of the following during school hours should have them available to them at school: emergency medication such as (but not limited to) an epinephrine autoinjector (EpiPen), asthma inhaler, seizure medication, diabetic supplies, other medication, treatment, or items needed for a procedure.

Medications, procedures, and treatments at school require current written orders and the signature of a parent or guardian.

If your child needs medication, procedure or treatment during the school day, a current and proper order from a licensed prescriber must be given to the nurse at your child’s school before the student enters or re-enters school. Orders will be renewed as needed, including at the beginning of each academic year. Contact your child’s school nurse for more information or if you have questions.

School Nurses are key members of the education team and leaders of school health who keep students healthy, safe and ready to learn.  Healthy children attend school regularly, participate in their classes and do better on assignments and tests. Holyoke Public School nurses help make this happen!

HHS Dean Campus/STEM – Kierra Laramie, RN klaramie@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: , fax: 413-540-2429

HHS North Campus – Amber Piedra, RN  & Nicole Brochu, RN, nbrochu@hps.holyoke.ma.us, phone: , fax: 413-540-2416

Donahue -Brittney Kane, RN bkane@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-534-2069 ext. 1106, fax: 413-540-2421

E.N. White – Isabel Gagnon, RN, igagnon@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-1692, fax: 413-540-2418

Kelly –Stephanie Singh, RN, ssingh@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-534-2115, fax: 413-540-2425

Lawrence – Alla Taku, RN ataku@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-540-2404, fax: 413-540-2424

McMahon – Michelle Sattler, RN, msattler@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: , fax: 413-540-2420

Metcalf/Metcalf Middle – Sydney Diaz, RN ,
phone: , fax: 413-493-1639

Morgan – Camille Lopez, RN camlopez@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-1667, fax: 413-540-2426

Peck – Mary Michaud, RN mmichaud@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-7040, fax: 413-540-2417

Sullivan – Sheneece Velazquez, RN, shvelazquez@hps.holyoke.ma.us,
phone: 413-493-1696, fax: 413-540-2419

Metcalf/Metcalf Middle – Sydney Diaz, RN ,
phone: , fax: 413-493-1639
The Holyoke Public School Nurses support, coordinate, collaborate and lead health programming in the school district through Health Services, Healthy EnvironmentComprehensive Health EducationNutrition ServicesPhysical EducationMental Health ServicesFamily/Community Relationships, and Staff Wellness.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email