Seventeen nominees standing in a group

Nineteen HPS educators have been nominated for a Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award this year:

  • Jessica Bresnahan, Sullivan School
  • Benito Colon, Holyoke High School North Campus
  • Kimberly Comtois, Lawrence
  • Jesenia Dejesus, Holyoke Middle School
  • Peter Duffy, Sullivan School
  • Joseph Dutsar, Holyoke High School Dean Campus
  • Ayla Formeister, Donahue School
  • Allison Gonzalez, Kelly School
  • Jillian Goulart, Morgan School
  • Emily Hamparian, Peck School
  • Jenny Haugsjaahabink, Sullivan School
  • Ashely Levya, Metcalf School
  • Stephanie Lutz, Sullivan School
  • Nicole McNeil, Opportunity Academy
  • Maria Negroni, Sullivan School
  • Suzanne Platanitis, McMahon School
  • Luis Robles, Holyoke High School Dean Campus
  • Erik Spracklin, E. N. White School
  • Linda Vollinger, Morgan School

“All of you are winners in my book for being nominated by one of your colleagues to be considered for this honor,” Superintendent Anthony Soto told the 19 nominees in a letter inviting them to a celebratory dinner in their honor on Wednesday, March 1, at Wyckoff Country Club.

Six of those 19 will be surprised Friday morning, March 3, when Superintendent Anthony Soto knocks on their classroom doors to congratulate them for being selected as winners!

Which of the six will be selected? Check back here on the district website’s news section on Friday at 2 p.m. for a complete list.